Print this page
Tuesday, 21 May 2019 05:45

Cricket world cup to be telecast in 200 territories; 25 TV/digital partners prepare for the mega global event

email this page

The ICC has announced that with support from global broadcast partner Star Sports, the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 will be broadcast live to more than 200 territories via 25 broadcast partners. Viewers will be able to access the tournament across television, radio and digital platforms, as well as news, in cinemas, at Fan Parks and via other media rights partners.

Star Sports has already hired a team of 50 of the world’s best commentators and is producing feeds in Hindi, Tamil, Telugu, Kannada, Bangla, and Marathi. A select 12 matches will also be broadcast in Malayalam via Asianet Plus. Star Sports will also carry all ICC TV produced matches in English.

Cricket World Cup 2019 will be broadcast on Star Sports (India and the rest of the Indian Sub-continent), Sky Sports (United Kingdom & Republic of Ireland), SuperSport (South Africa and Sub-Saharan Africa), OSN (Middle East & North Africa), Fox Sports Australia and Channel 9 (Australia), Willow TV (USA), Sky TV and Prime (New Zealand), Ten Sports and PTV (Pakistan), ESPN (Caribbean), Gazi TV, Maasranga and BTV (all Bangladesh), SLRC (Sri Lanka) and Fox Network Group (China and South East Asia), Digicel (Asia Pacific), Radio Television Afghanistan (Afghanistan) and Yupp TV (Continental Europe and Central Asia).

Sky Sports will also show all matches via Sky Sports Cricket which becomes a dedicated ‘Cricket World Cup’ channel from 30 May and that will be complemented by a one-hour highlights show on terrestrial broadcaster Channel 4, which will air approximately three hours after the end of each game.

Radio Television Afghanistan (RTA) will bring the matches to Afghanistan for the very first time. In Canada, Willow TV will launch a channel ahead of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019, targeting a reach of four million households through all major cable and satellite operators.

Meanwhile, in China, Fox Sports will broadcast 25 live matches with a further nine on delayed coverage. In the rest of South Asia (Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Macau, Mongolia, Myanmar, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, South Korea, Thailand and Vietnam) Fox Sports will schedule highlights at noon each day, with a late-night replay of the best ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 moments at 10pm, local time.

The ICC said that in South America, fans can enjoy coverage via 3 ESPN Apps which cover the entire continent. ESPN South, ESPN North, and ESPN Brazil can be downloaded via the App store. In Australia, Channel 9 will carry 21 matches, including all Australia matches, the semi-finals and final via their channel 9GEM. They will complement Fox Sports Australia coverage, who will broadcast all matches live via Fox Sports Cricket, including the tournament warm-up matches.

Also, Fox Sports Australia will be joined by Star Sports (India and the rest of the Indian Sub-continent), Sky Sports (United Kingdom & Republic of Ireland), Sky TV (New Zealand), SuperSport (South Africa and Sub-Saharan Africa) and Ten Sports (Pakistan) in the live broadcast of the tournament warm-up matches, from 24 May.

Star India’s OTT platform Hotstar will livestream the matches.

email this page

Share this post

Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TechnoratiSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn

Right Click

No right click